*** Second Call for Papers ***

FCT 2017

21st International Symposium on Fundamentals of Computation Theory September 11-13, 2017, Bordeaux, France

http://fct2017.labri.fr/

Authors are invited to submit original research papers in all areas related to the Foundations of Computer Science (algorithms, formal methods, emerging fields of study).

IMPORTANT DATES

Abstract Registration:	May 1, 2017 (AoE)
Paper Submission:	May 6, 2017 (AoE)
Notification to authors:	June 16, 2017
Camera-ready submission:	June 28, 2017
Symposium:	September 11-13, 2017

ABOUT FCT The Symposium on Fundamentals of Computation Theory (FCT) was established in 1977 for researchers interested in all aspects of theoretical computer science, and in particular algorithms, complexity, formal and logical methods. FCT is a biennial conference. The last preceding Symposia were held in Gdansk, Liverpool, Oslo, Wrocław, Budapest, Lübeck.

FCT 2017 will take place in Bordeaux, which is located in the South West of France. The region is famous for its wines and its gastronomy. The city centre of Bordeaux is classified at the Unesco World Heritage.

SCOPE The program committee is soliciting original and significant research contributions to the Fundamentals of Computation Theory, including (but not limited to):

* *Algorithms*: algorithm design and optimization; approximation, randomized, and heuristic methods; circuits and boolean functions; combinatorics and analysis of algorithms; computational algebra; computational and parameterized complexity; computational geometry; distributed and parallel computing; online algorithms; streaming algorithms.

* Formal methods: algebraic and categorical methods; automata and formal languages; computability and nonstandard computing models; database theory; foundations of concurrency and distributed systems; logic and model checking; models of reactive, hybrid and stochastic systems; principles of programming languages; program analysis and transformation; security; specification, refinement and verification; type systems.

* *Emerging fields*: ad hoc, dynamic and evolving systems; algorithmic game theory; computational biology; foundations of cloud computing and ubiquitous systems; quantum information and quantum computing.

PROCEEDINGS Conference proceedings will be published in the ARCoSS subline of the Springer *Lecture Notes in Computer Science* series.

SPECIAL ISSUE Selected papers will be invited to a special issue of the Journal of Computer and System Sciences, devoted to FCT 2017.

AWARDS Awards will be given to the best paper and the best student paper. To be eligible for the best student paper award, at least one of the paper authors must be a full-time student at the time of submission, and the student(s) must have made a significant contribution to the paper.

INVITED SPEAKERS There will be four invited talks given by Thomas Colcombet, Martin Dietzfelbinger, Juraj Hromkovič and Anca Muscholl. There will also be one invited talk in memoriam of Zoltán Ésik given by Jean-Éric Pin.

SUBMISSION Authors are invited to submit high-quality manuscripts reporting original unpublished research in the topics related to the symposium. Simultaneous submission to other conferences or workshops with published proceedings is not allowed. It is required that each accepted paper be presented at the conference by one of its authors.

Submissions must not exceed 12 pages (excluding references), formatted according to LNCS style plus an optional, clearly marked appendix of reasonable length (to be read at the program committee's discretion). The first page must include an indication of whether the paper is eligible for the best student paper award.

The submission system can be accessed via http://fct2017.labri.fr/.

PROGRAM COMMITTEE Parosh Aziz Abdulla, Petra Berenbrink, Nathalie Bertrand, Benedikt Bollig, Patricia Bouyer, Véronique Bruyère, Arnaud Casteigts, Hubie Chen, Colin Cooper, Kevin P. Costello, Jurek Czyzowicz, Martin Dietzfelbinger, Robert Elsässer, Thomas Erlebach, Paola Flocchini, Pierre Fraigniaud, Luisa Gargano, Sun-Yuan Hsieh, Stefan Kiefer, Ralf Klasing (co-Chair), Dieter Kratsch, Manfred Kufleitner, Fabian Kuhn, Thierry Lecroq, Jérôme Leroux, Leo Liberti, Markus Lohrey, Frédéric Magniez, Wim Martens, Pierre McKenzie, Madhavan Mukund, Nicolas Nisse, Vangelis Th. Paschos, Joseph G. Peters, Guido Proietti, Tomasz Radzik, R. Ramanujam, Jean-François Raskin, José Rolim, Sylvain Salvati, Maria José Serna Iglesias, Jean-Marc Talbot, Laurent Viennot, Gerhard Woeginger, Marc Zeitoun (co-Chair).

STEERING COMMITTEE Bogdan Chlebus, Marek Karpinski (Chair), Andrzej Lingas, Miklos Santha, Eli Upfal.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE Arnaud Casteigts (co-Chair), Ralf Klasing (co-Chair), Sofian Maabout, Yessin M. Neggaz, Marc Zeitoun, Akka Zemmari.

CONTACT For further information, please send an e-mail to fct2017@labri.fr.